You Glow Girl

I’m back for round two…

My goodness, I hope writing these gets easier… Several days and counting and I am still struggling to form a coherent thought. I’m afraid you poor things are going to be waiting around a long time if can’t figure this website out soon!

This time we’re going to be stepping into the world of makeup, I hope you’re all excited.

Lord knows we all love to glow, to accomplish dewy skinned perfection without looking like we have dipped our face into a chip pan. A little while ago, I learnt how to master this skill. So line up ladies, I’m about to share it with you!

Goodbye oily skin, hello enviable skin.

My fabulous tutor Lisa has shared all her industry tips with me and lately demonstrated how to achieve a ‘glowing makeup’ look. She tells me the trick to dewy skin is to make the skin look fresh, clean and most importantly not like it’s made up. However I have found, like most things, the simplest looks are usually the hardest. If you are able to master the ‘not made up’ made up look you are already on the road to glowing skin. The most important thing is perfectly prepped skin; we’re talking intense cleansing and moisturising to make sure every trace of makeup is removed before you start. However, if you have oily skin as I do, skip the moisturising, as you will already produce enough moisture. Then it’s down to applying a flawless base, once you have created that the rest falls into place easily.

Number 1 fact: powder is your enemy for this look.

You need to reach for creamy and liquid products. Don’t be fearful if you’re thinking – ‘ powder and me are joint at the hips, I don’t do cream and liquids.’ You can improvise. My look, as you will see later, uses products on areas of the skin they are not created for. As a student I can’t afford to go and buy a new product for every look I attempt, so it’s important to be product savvy.

This is the look Lisa demonstrated on her fabulous model Rebecca.

IMG_3185

I embarked upon the journey to create flawless and dewy skin on my own model, Jodie.

This is how it came out.

IMG_3208

This was the first makeup look I was challenged with at university and I am fairly happy how it came out. It doesn’t look perfect by any stretch of the imagination, but hey, I’m here to learn! I incorporated the all-important highlight, which I feel was the key to getting the glow. However, Mac face and body was definitely my most loved item for this look. I cannot rave enough about it! Seriously, you need to try this foundation if your a face and body virgin.

Products I used:
Cetaphil Gentle Skin Cleanser
Bioderma Sensibio H2O
Kiehl’s Ultra Facial Cream
Clarins Beauty Flash Balm
Mac Face & Body in C1 and C3
Mac Studio Conceal and Correct Palette in Medium – Peach and NC30
Laura Mercier Secret Camouflage in SC3
Benefit Watts Up
Chanel Soleil Tan De Chanel in Bronze Universel
Revlon Lip Butter in Sweet Tart for Lips and Blush
Mac Eyeshadow in Omega for Brows
Anastasia Beverly Hills Brow Gel in Clear
Lorac Pro Palette – Taupe, Espresso
Mac Haute & Naughty Mascara

I wish you all luck if you decide to recreate this, please post it on your instagram page, and tag me @thaliasparrow so I can take a peek. I hope you love the look!

Until next time…

Screen Shot 2015-10-15 at 13.38.46

Leave a Reply

